Road cycling race

The winners of the annual Bouckaert Soenen league road cycling race held in Paarl last Sunday were, from left, Mathew Merrington, third place; Jayde Julius, first place in a time of 3:10:59; and Bradley Gouveris, second place. They cycled a route of 124km from Paarl to Gouda and Riebeek West, and back through Paardeberg and Klapmuts. About 1 200 cyclists participated in the race, which is organised by Paarl Rotary.