Journalist of the Year contenders

■ Six journalists from Cape Community Newspapers, which publishes Bolander, were contenders at the 2017 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards, Western Region, at Century City last Thursday evening. John Harvey, Sentinel News; Phiri Cawe, Vukani; Athina May, Southern Suburbs Tatler; Kaylynn Palm, Plainsman; Nabeelah Mohedeen, Athlone News; and Bolander’s Norman McFarlane share a moment afterwards.