isiXhosa Oratory Competition hosted by Paul Roos

First place winners are in the back from left, are Dr Simthembile Xeketwana, Stellenbosch University Faculty of Education; first place winner Ane’ de Villiers, Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof; Dr Zameka Sijadu, Stellenbosch University Faculty of African Language; ENSafrica’s CEO Jan Vivier; and Winner Electra de Melo, St Cyprian’s School. First place winners in the front from left, are Sinovuyo Tinzi, Makupula Secondary School; Banyolo Ndzingani, Calling Academy; Siziphiwe Mpulula, Groote Schuur High School; Lindokuhle Mafutha, Makupula Secondary.

Paul Roos Gymnasium (PRG) hosted the first isiXhosa oratory competition by name of Masithethe! (“let’s talk”) on Saturday May 14.

The hosting of the competition followed discussions with ENSafrica (the official sponsor of PRG Forum) during which the need for the development of an isiXhosa oratory competition for high school learners was identified.

Thereafter a wide array of schools with isiXhosa as subject was invited to enter for the first competition of its kind in the Boland. According to the school, their vision for Masithethe! is to promote multi-language use in South Africa and to encourage learners to speak isiXhosa.

“PRG wants to provide a platform on which isiXhosa speakers of any level can inform, entertain and convince an audience.”

The school received 87 speech entries from eight schools from the Western Cape. These schools are Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof, Calling Academy, Grootte Schuur High School, Makapula Secondary School, Rhenish Girls’ High, St Cyprians High School, Kayamandi Secondary School and Paul Roos Gymnasium.

Teachers from participating schools who attended the Masithethe workshop volunteered as competition judges and two special judges from the University of Stellenbosch, Dr Zameka Sijadu (Faculty of African Language) and Dr Simthembile Xeketwana (Faculty of Education) judged the final round of the competition.

Second prize winners from left, are Aaliyah September, Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof; Mihle Wapi, Calling Academy; Milani Zenzile, Groote Schuur High School; Asanele Banjatini, Makupula Secondary. In the back, is Songezo Nkawule from Makupula Secondary School.
Third place winners from left, are Vaphi Milisa, Khayamandi Secondary School; Lona Mhaga, Bloemhof Girls’ High; Achumile Mondi, Groote Schuur High School; Mihlali Makrega, Makupula Secondary School. In the back are educators, Vuyelwa Vanga, from Khayamandi Secondary School and on the far right is Nompazamo May from Makupula Secondary School.
Paul Roos contestants from left, are Gareth Davidse and Naqeeb Rosenberg.