e’Bosch Heritage Festival programme kicks off

An orchestral performance during the 2017 eBosch Heritage Festival.

The 8th annual e’Bosch Heritage Festival in Stellenbosch starts on Saturday September 25, with a full programme of more than 30 events over the next two months.

The first event is the e’Bosch School Choir Festival for primary schools with 21 schools from the Stellenbosch and Franschhoek district taking part. Entry to this event, which starts at 3pm in the Coetzenburg Centre, is free to the public.

Wednesday August 29 is the official launch of the e’Bosch Heritage Festival at the Stellenbosch University (SU) Museum, hosted by Advocate Gesie van Deventer, Executive Mayor of Stellenbosch Municipality, and Professor Wim de Villiers, Rector and Vice-Chancellor of Stellenbosch University. Advocate Thuli Madonsela will be the guest speaker.

A number of Stellenbosch residents will also receive the e’Bosch Heritage Awards at this event for their contributions to the promotion of culture and heritage conservation in the district. Training certificates will also be presented to community members who completed a leadership training course this year.

On Saturday September 1, members of the Dorpie Heritage Committees will have their annual e’Bosch Pentaque Competition. Ida’s Valley will present its Family Heirloom Exhibition from Monday September 3 to Sunday September 30 in the Ida’s Valley library. Several other dorpies such as Devon Valley, Jamestown, Cloetesville, Klapmuts, Lanquedoc and Kylemore will also present a variety of heritage events during September.

Stellenbosch Museum’s contribution to e’Bosch heritage events includes two tours.

The first, on Saturday September 15, is a visit to the Stellenbosch Museum, SU Botanical Garden, SU Art Museum, Jamestown heritage exhibition, Pnië* Museum (with lunch) and Cloetesville Heritage Festival.

The second is an evening stroll with the renowned Pietman Retief through the historical core of Stellenbosch, on Friday September 20, at 6pm, followed by a finger supper at Grosvenor House.

Other highlights include the Wildlands Commemorative Tree Planting on Wednesday September 5, an Interfaith Conversation Thursday September 13, the SU Centennial and Heritage Day Wind Band Concert on Monday September 17, a panel discussion on “Celebrating 100 Identities in Africa” by the University of Stellenbosch, on Tuesday September 18, and the Imbali Children’s Art Exhibition
at Kylemore, on Saturday September 29.

Several other events will also be presented during September and October, such as the e’Bosch Senior School Choir Festival, on Wednesday September 19, at the Stellenbosch Town Hall, the e’Bosch VriendsCUP Games at Rhenish Primary School on Saturday September 22, an under-11 soccer tournament to be held at the Kayamandi Stadium on Monday September 24, the Distell Diversity and Social Inclusion Workshop, on Wednesday October 3, and the Moore Stephens Night Run on Wednesday October 17.

For more information visit www.ebosch.co.za/program